1/3: The Wait

I know he belongs to her now. I know it’s pathetic to still wait for him, at this hour. But I have been waiting for three hours, another two won’t hurt. Right? He said he’ll be here, and he’s never broken those words before. Though everything’s different now. Though we both said it’s over. Though what I’m asking would hurt someone else. I’ll wait for him. He’ll come.

An hour.

A couple of hours.

22:02. I glance at the bedside table. Cakes don’t spoil easily, right? It’s chocolate. I bought it before I came here. I asked for a candle, but they said there’s none left. I bet I’m not the only one who’s celebrating today. It was raining hard outside and it was hopeless to find a candle, so it was just the cake. I’ll just keep the wish to myself.

22:35. Should I still wait? Viber message delivered.

23:00. I dial his number. It’s ringing…. He cancelled my call.

23:01. I dial his other number. The telephone number you dialed is not is service or out of coverage area…

I feel cold. A drop of tear on my mobile screen. And another. Another. I am shaking.

23:40. I reach for the switch and turn the lights off. It’s over. He’s not coming. Who was I kidding? I reach for the blanket and wrap it around me. Time to sleep.

23:52. My phone vibrates. Yes. I’m still in a meeting. Will be there at 12:30. Wait for me.

23:53. Tears. Ok, will wait.

~~~

Writing 101: Serially Lost — Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t anymore. Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.

Leave a Reply

