Songs (Freewrite)

The exercise says to pick the 3 most important songs in my life, but I’m afraid the 15 minutes that were allotted for freewriting will be over before I get to choose these 3 songs. Well, let me try.

There are songs from my childhood that I grew up with. Disney songs specifically. And if I should pick one special song from Snow White to Frozen, I think it will be “A Whole New World” from Aladdin. Why? Because that movie was my first ever cinema experience. And that was the first time that I get to realize how much I love the idea of fantasy, and magic. Like the song says, it has taken me to a whole new world, and I will never forget that experience.

There are also songs from the church. I grew up from a Christian family, and I believe these songs have honed my character and life choices. There are a lot of worship songs that I sing in specific circumstances. But if I must choose one, I think it’s “Alabaster Jar,” because I consider my life as an offering. At this point I still don’t know my exact purpose for being here in these earth. There are a lot of things that I want to be, that I want to accomplish. I’ve been failing and succeeding from each attempt to be someone of significance.. but to know that I was born with a purpose–to be an offering of worship to my Creator–it helps me to stand again every time I fail.

And then there are mainstream songs. I like music. I listen to them everyday while I travel, while I work, and sometimes while I sleep. to choose one would be very difficult, but let’s just say it’s “Show Me The Meaning of Being Lonely,” by the Backstreet Boys, because they are the first foreign group that I have consciously liked. Well I liked listening to that song and waiting for it to appear on MTV. It was the start of the expansion of my musical preferences. It’s also a bit inspiring to know that they are still making music and songs until today. Another inspiration to “keep going.”

There you go. Three songs. But there are still others. but my 15 minutes are up.

~~~

Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice — Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you? 

Leave a Reply

