Carpe Diem

In case you have not read about Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, the excitement-inducing strain of bacteria that I recently developed, you may click this link to find out about it:

https://jcbridewrite.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/supercalifragilisticexpialidocious-the-excitement-inducing-bacteria/

Now that we’ve cancelled out boredom from the list of human ailments that are in need of a thorough scientific attention, I am happy to announce that I am jumpstarting a study to invent a painless and inexpensive cure for another serious disorder called overthinking.

overthinking
So why overthinking? Well let’s just say that I’ve read this particular journal entry:

July 27, 2011

There’s a storm signal and classes are suspended. I’m feverish, it’s just too cold… and thinking of you is not helping me recover. There’s a nagging question in my mind which neither you nor I can answer:

When will you go?

Will it be a few days from now? Next week? Next month? I know a warning is too much to ask.

I should live my days with a smile I guess, but I just can’t get myself to do it… For me, your presence means the same thing as your absence. I know you’re here, but I also know you’re going. This may be another beginning, but it’s just too bad to feel I already know the ending.

So tell me, have you marked the day you’ll leave me in your calendar? Please tell me so I can also mark mine. And when that day comes, let’s celebrate it like the way we celebrate your birthday. With bittersweet smiles we’ll talk as if there’s truth in our promises.

I know that letting you in again means letting you go again…

It’s being selfish and selfless at the same time…

Sometimes I wonder why my heart works this way. Why can’t I find the way out as easily as others have?

Maybe I’d be happier when you’re no longer here… but then again, I’m not really sure.
~

I mean, honestly? The person who wrote this must be addicted to unnecessary stress. Carpe Diem my dear. Don’t overthink.

Oops, just realized I was talking to myself.

Daily Prompt: Placebo Effect

13 thoughts on “Carpe Diem

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Placebo Effect | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Peace | Eyes to Heart

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Placebo Effect | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: The waves in my head are not that great for surfing | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: What if a pill could cure the kill? | Okay, what if ?

  6. Pingback: An apple a day? Maybe I can do better. . . | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: Decisions, decisions… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: When Toy Guns Equal Real Bullets | Cheri Speak

  9. Pingback: Not The Pill; It’s The Water To Wash It Down | The Jittery Goat

  10. Pingback: Stupidity | A mom's blog

  11. Pingback: HYPNOTIC RITE | hastywords

  12. Pingback: The right to die (November 2013) | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  13. Pingback: Hope cures old wounds | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

