HIGH is the new YOU

There’s no way but up. I am the Queen Ant. I am the chosen one. I have been destined to start a strong and mighty colony since the day I was born.

I thought I am ready, but truth is I’m not.

“Why do you look so sad, my Queen?” Antoine. My warrior and my shield. The love of my life. I will never see him again after tonight.

“You know why, Antoine.” I whisper, careful that someone might hear.

“But it is your Nuptial Flight dear Queen, you must look nothing but radiant on this very special day.” He says, as if it doesn’t matter to him. As if I don’t matter to him.

“How can you even say that? I’d rather die than marry someone I don’t love. Antoine, please, let’s just run away. If you love me, don’t make me do this. Just tell me not to fly, and I won’t.”

“My dear Antarra, keeping you from being the Queen that you’re destined to be is not love, but greed. You have to fly… far away from here… and meet your true King.”

“But Antoine, I don’t need a King, I need you. Why are you pushing me away?” I say in tears.

“Your Highness, it’s time for the Nuptial Flight.” It’s Anteron, the captain of the Ant Guards. I see every ant in my colony bowing down. It really is time.

I close my eyes and listen to Antoine’s voice.

“Fly high my Queen. Embrace the new you, and never look back.”

 

~

A response to Daily Prompt: __________ is the new __________.

4th and 14th word from my favorite blog: http://www.ayoungblog.com/post/51133228407/me-in-junior-high-we-have-calculators-for-a

11 thoughts on “HIGH is the new YOU

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time is the New Jackass | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Grandmother is the new Kid. | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Seventh is the New King | Anniemation Floe

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Color is the new expression | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Distance is the new Rainbow | To Breathe is to Write

  6. Pingback: Poverty’s Streets are the new Manhattan #poetry #photography | Moondustwriter's Blog

  7. Pingback: Google is the new between….um yeah thanks Daily Prompt | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: Just Leave Me a Clone! part one: Rob is the New Rob | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: (Whatever) Is The New (Whatever) | Edward Hotspur

  10. Pingback: Blank |

  11. Pingback: Clean is the New Way | Manresa, Maine

Leave a Reply

