That Yellow Sundress (Part 3)

“You shouldn’t have done that.” I heard someone say, breaking my reverie. I was sitting under a tree, staring at the three mutilated sunflowers in my hand, thanks to Sundra’s heels. Sunflowers were Sun’s gift to Earth, you know. I thought seeing them would make her remember.

I lifted my eyes and found the Sunguard peering at me through eyes of fire. “No one told me what I should and should not do,” I answered.

“My mistake,” she said. “I overlooked how bravely stupid you are.”

“I’ll take that as a compliment, Suneerah.”

“Perhaps you wouldn’t be so smug if I tell you that we have a bigger problem,” said the Sunguard, claiming my attention.

“What do you mean?”

“I know you’re wondering why you still remember everything, though the High Council clearly said you won’t.” She started her story, while finding a place beside me under the tree. “I owed your mother a grave debt, and so when news came that you were to be exiled, she sought me. She knew I was the only one who could help.”

“What did she ask from you?”

“To help you keep your memory so you can find your way back.”

“I see. And the Council found out, that’s why you’re here.”

“Yes, and more. As my punishment, I was sent here to make sure that Sundra won’t remember anything, whatever you do. That everytime you try to remind her, I would be forced to do something to hurt both of you.”

Oh no no no. This can’t be happening.

“By midnight, your Sundra will turn into marble.” She said before I got the chance to ask.

“What? You mean she’ll die?”

“No, she’d still be alive, only she won’t be able to move. To earthpeople’s eyes, however, she would just be a lifeless marble statue of a woman.”

“No Suneerah. I can’t let this happen! Is there anything I can do?”

“Open your hand.” She said, and I did as told. She placed her hand above mine, and a yellow garment started to form in between.

“What’s this?”

“It’s a Sundress. You must find Sundra and make her wear this. If you’re successful, she will be back to her human form when it turns midnight. But that’s all.”

“What do you mean?”

“When the sun rises, I’m afraid she will be a marble statue again.”

SONY DSC

~

A response to Daily Prompt: Michaelangelo’s YOU

READ:

3 thoughts on “That Yellow Sundress (Part 3)

  1. Pingback: Ascher bochor aabar hobe | Processing the life

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Michelangelo’s You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: The Thinker & Me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

