That Yellow Sundress (Part 2)

I will never forget the first time I saw Sundra, and how light emanated from her eyes. She was laughing, and I found myself smiling as I watched her. Her light was contagious and she warmed my heart.

“Have we met before?” She asked, smiling as I approached.

“As this is my first time to behold such a beauty, no I don’t think so.” She blushed, and I took the opportunity to offer my hand. “I’m Sunjiv, dear lady.”

“Sundra,” she said, shaking my hand. “How come I haven’t seen you before?”

“Maybe you weren’t looking.”

I told her that I transferred from another Suntribe. As people of the Sun, our duty was to keep producing light, fire, and magnetism to hold the entire Sun System together. We are responsible for the survival of the eight smaller worlds that revolve around ours.

sun

I was magnet, she was light. I gave her strength, she gave me joy. We fell in love, and forgot everything else…

Including our duty.

After a single careless act we were summoned by the High Council, and I just knew that it was the end.

“The two of you shall be exiled to Earth where you will forget everything about this world.”

And so I woke up the next day on a stone cold floor.

For some reason, I did not forget. Only Sundra did. At first I thought she was only trying to be careful when she ignored me the first time I saw her in her Earth clothes.  The old sparkle was missing from her eyes, but even then she was still the most beautiful being I ever laid eyes on.

The Earth men could see it too. What I could not understand was how they were able to earn a smile from her painted lips, when I could not. Was she being too cautious to the point of hurting me?

Every single day I watched her, hoping that at least once she would look my way. She never did.

One day I gathered all the courage I have left and decided to talk to her. I had to know if she remembers. I had to know if her heart’s still mine.

That was a mistake.

~

A response to Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder

9 thoughts on “That Yellow Sundress (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: The Magic of Music | Cheri Speak

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: What if I could explain beauty? | Okay, what if ?

  5. Pingback: What it feels like to hear a beautiful piece of music or see a stunning piece of art | Processing the life

  6. Pingback: That Yellow Sundress (Part 3) | JC Bride ~

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Eye of The Beholder – Poem / Poetry – “Acoustiscal Tonic” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  8. Pingback: ACCOUSTICAL TONIC | hastywords

Leave a Reply

