Biases

bookIf you’re a book, and you want to earn your way to my heart, you should be:

1. FICTION

Books are my escape from the real world, so fiction’s the first section I’d run to when in a bookstore. It’s rare for me to read someone else’s biography, unless it’s required in class, or in preparation for some speaking engagement. I prefer the expanse of imagination over the box of reality.

2. A PART OF A SERIES

I love the really long reads. I’d like to believe that a story doesn’t stop with a single book. As life goes on, so does a story. It flows, it evolves, it gets complicated, it grows. I did fall in love with ‘The Fault in our Stars’ though, but it took a lot of convincing from my friend before I decided to read the book.

3. NOT FROM THIS ERA

I’m partial to dystopian as of the moment. It’s interesting to know how different authors envision the future. Though they have different themes, they are all about one thing – the fight for survival. I don’t know if I’m lucky or not that I won’t live long enough to experience all the drama.

4. THE BOOK COVER IS NOT SOMEONE’S FACE

I don’t know… I’m just not attracted to covers with faces on it. I want to picture the characters in my mind. If you already give me how they should look like, it would be difficult for me to appreciate the depth of the character.

5. FROM THE BESTSELLERS LIST

Heh. I rarely experiment when it comes to books. The reviews are somehow helpful to make me decide if I should spend money on a book or not. A new book that’s written by my favorite author would be an exception.

Now, if you’re a blog entry, and you want me to click the link to your page, you should:

READ AND LIKE  AND COMMENT ON MY PAGE FIRST. 

Kidding!

~

A response to Daily Prompt: Reading Material

9 thoughts on “Biases

  1. Pingback: Books that Glimmer | The Silver Leaf Journal

  2. Pingback: The Joy of Sex and other tomes… | alienorajt

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Reading Material | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: What Makes It Worth the Read? | Stuphblog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Photographs and beautiful words | viver para contar

  6. Pingback: How do you pick what blogs or books to read? | Processing the life

  7. Pingback: Stop staring at her boobs! | My Atheist Blog

  8. Pingback: Picking a Blog to Read | Sogna Grandezza

  9. Pingback: His Dark Reading Materials | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

